Instead of fear at the dentist

Thanks to modern treatment methods and available techniques, dental treatments using local anesthesia are almost always painless. In spite of this, many patients experience a visit to the dentist as uncomfortable or even threatening. 60-80 percent of the population claim to have feelings of fear before a dental appointment. 20 percent of these have a very high level of fear. 5 percent avoid a visit to the dentist completely for years. The latter group suffers under a dentist phobia. The boundaries between normal and pathological fear are fluid.

One of the most common causes of this phenomenon is previous traumatic experiences at the dentist. Also not to be underestimated is the expectation of fear, although the probability that pain occurs is very low.

In addition, neutral stimuli such as smells, sounds, or syringes can turn into a conditioned stimulus in a treatment situation. Stories about dental treatments in one’s social environment (parents, family!) can trigger such fears as well.

We take a patient’s problem with fear of dentists or with a dental treatment phobia very seriously. The first visit is usually taken up with getting acquainted and getting used to our practice and our team in a relaxed way. We mutually determine how and with which methods we can shape the dental treatment to be fear free. A quiet environment, empathy and understanding form the foundation for a relief from fear. No one needs to be ashamed of his or her fear, or have the feeling that they are not understood. We have been trained in dealing with fearful patients and are always there for you as your point of contact.

Goethe suffered for example from fear of heights, Freud from panic attacks, and even Pope Benedict XVI admitted once when asked if he had fear: “Yes naturally – of the dentist.”

Anstelle Angst beim Zahnarzt

Durch die modernen Behandlungsmethoden und zur Verfügung stehenden Techniken sind Zahnbehandlungen unter Lokalanästhesie fast immer schmerzfrei. Trotzdem empfinden viele Patienten den Zahnarztbesuch als unangenehm oder gar bedrohlich. 60-80 Prozent der Bevölkerung geben ein Angstgefühl vor dem Zahnarztbesuch an. Davon gelten 20 Prozent als höchstängstlich. 5 Prozent vermeiden jahrelang den Besuch beim Zahnarzt völlig. Letztere leiden unter einer Zahnarztphobie. Die Übergänge von der normalen zur pathologischen Angst sind fliessend.

Zu einer der häufigsten Ursachen zählen traumatische Erlebnisse beim Zahnarzt in früheren Zeiten. Nicht zu unterschätzen ist aber auch die Erwartungsangst, obwohl die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass Schmerzen auftreten, sehr gering ist.

Darüber hinaus können neutrale Reize, z.B. Gerüche, Geräusche, Spritzen, in einer Behandlungssituation zu einem konditionierten Reiz werden. Ebenso können aber auch Erzählungen über Zahnbehandlungen im sozialen Umfeld (Eltern, Familie!) Ängste auslösen.

Ein Patient mit Zahnarztangst bzw. Zahnbehandlungsphobie wird bei uns mit seinem Problem ernstgenommen. Der erste Besuch dient in der Regel dem entspannten Kennenlernen und das Gewöhnen an die Atmosphäre unserer Praxis und das Team. Wir ermitteln gemeinsam, wie und mit welchen Methoden wir Ihnen die Zahnbehandlung angstfrei gestalten können. Ein ruhiges Umfeld, Einfühlsamkeit und Verständnis sind die Grundlagen für den Angstabbau. Niemand muss sich seiner Angst schämen oder nicht verstanden fühlen. Wir sind im Umgang mit ängstlichen Patienten geschult und jederzeit ein Ansprechpartner für Sie.

So litt z.B. Goethe unter Höhenangst, Freud unter Panikanfällen und sogar Papst Benedikt XVI gestand einmal auf die Frage, ob er sich denn auch fürchte: „Ja natürlich – vor dem Zahnarzt.“