Beautiful Teeth are your Business Card

Your teeth are your personal business card. The number of people that have high standards not only for themselves, but for their teeth and health is increasing steadily.

As President of the Swiss Dentists Society for Esthetic Dentistry (SGAEZ), Dr. Zehm focuses not only on health, but especially on Aesthetic Dentistry as well.

The origin of the definition of esthetics is found in Greek and can be translated as sense perception. Included is everything that has to do with what can be perceived with our five senses: A carefully taken care of set of teeth is not only nice to look at (seeing), it entails clean pronunciation (hearing), perfect functionality (touch), as well as a lack of foreign taste (tasting)—under certain circumstances caused by metallic restorations—and no bad breath (smelling).

In dental esthetics one differentiates between white and red esthetics. Depending on your individual dental situation and according to your personal wishes, various solutions can be provided for beautiful teeth (white aesthetic). Modern ceramics or even ultramodern, ceramic enhanced plastics may be utilized. You can read more about this under “Veneers”.

Red Aesthetic – The Gums

Mild treatments and microsurgical operation techniques can be applied in order to create (or recreate) a harmonious progression of the gum line and that improve the general aesthetic results. For example, exposed, tender and unattractive dental necks can be repaired with fine tissue transplants.

It is also possible to shorten the gingival cuff for cosmetic reasons, for instance when smiling makes too much of the gums visible or the teeth appear too small in comparison to the gums.

Schöne Zähne sind Ihre Visitenkarte

Ihre Zähne sind Ihre persönliche Visitenkarte. Die Zahl der Menschen, die hohe Ansprüche nicht nur an sich, sondern auch an das Aussehen Ihrer Zähne und an Ihre Gesundheit stellen, wächst stetig.

Als Präsident der Schweizerischen Zahnärzte-Gesellschaft für Ästhetische Zahnmedizin SGAEZ legt Dr. Zehm seinen Fokus nicht nur auf die Gesundheit, sondern auch auf die Ästhetische Zahnmedizin.

Den Ursprung findet die Definition Ästhetik im Griechischen und wird mit sinnlicher Wahrnehmung übersetzt. Dazu zählt all das, was mit unseren fünf Sinnen wahrnehmbar ist: Ein hochwertig versorgtes Gebiss ist nicht nur schön anzusehen (Sehen), sondern beinhaltet ebenfalls eine saubere Aussprache (Hören), eine perfekte Funktion (Fühlen, Spüren), sowie keinen Fremdgeschmack (Schmecken) – unter Umständen hervorgerufen durch metallische Restaurationen – und keinen Mundgeruch (Riechen).

Bei der Ästhetik unterscheidet man die weisse von der roten Ästhetik. Je nach Ihrer individuellen Zahnsituation und je nach Ihren persönlichen Wünschen, bieten sich vielseitige Lösungen für schöne Zähne (weisse Ästhetik). Moderne Keramiken oder auch hochmoderne, keramikverstärkte Kunststoffe kommen zur Anwendung. Mehr dazu lesen Sie unter “Veneers”.

Rote Ästhetik – Das Zahnfleisch

Für die (Wieder-)Herstellung eines harmonischen Verlaufs der Zahnfleischgrenze kommen sehr schonende und mikrochirurgische Operationstechniken zur Anwendung, die das ästhetische Gesamtergebnis verbessern. Somit lassen sich beispielsweise freiliegende, schmerzempfindliche sowie darüber hinaus auch unattraktive Zahnhälse mit feinen Gewebstransplantaten beseitigen.

Aus kosmetischen Gründen ist es möglich, den Zahnfleischsaum zu kürzen, wenn etwa beim Lächeln zu viel Zahnfleisch sichtbar wird bzw. die Zähne im Verhältnis zu klein wirken.