Essential for the prevention of caries

Fluoride is a necessary building block for the normal formation of tooth enamel. Enamel protects the tooth against caries. Continual acid attacks, which arise from acid in foodstuffs (e.g. Fruit juices) and bacteria, promote caries. Daily food intake cannot fulfill the need for fluoride. Daily doses of between 0.3-4.0 mg, depending on one’s age, are both necessary and completely harmless. It is a scientifically proved fact, that fluorides which are applied to the tooth surface after the teeth appear do prevent caries.
For example, investigations were carried out in 1953 regarding the population of Sembrancher in the Canton of Wallis regarding general medical problems. The only surprising result was low rate of caries in spite of bad dental hygiene. The reason for this had to do with the natural drinking water, which had a fluoride content of between 1.0-1.4 mg.

Periodic fluoride treatments are recommended in order to maintain the tooth enamel. The dosage depends on one’s age and the medically defined limits should not be exceeded. The treatment can take different forms, for example mouthwash solutions, jellies and coatings.
In the meantime there have been more than 300’000 scientific studies on the use of fluoride. They demonstrate its harmlessness, given the correct application. Medical supervision is therefore necessary when fluoride is used.

Für die Vorbeugung von Karies unverzichtbar

Für die normale Ausbildung des Zahnschmelzes ist Fluorid ein notwendiger Baustein. Der Zahnschmelz schützt den Zahn vor Karies. Die dauernden Säureangriffe, die durch Säure aus der Nahrung (z.B. Fruchtsäfte) und durch Bakterien hervorgerufen wird, begünstigt die Entstehung von Karies. Durch die tägliche Nahrungsaufnahme wird der Bedarf an Fluoriden nicht gedeckt. Erforderlich und allgemeinmedizinisch unbedenklich, gelten altersabhängig Tagesdosen zwischen 0,3 mg und 4,0 mg. Wissenschaftlich bewiesen ist die Tatsache, dass die nach dem Zahndurchbruch auf die Zahnoberfläche einwirkenden Fluoride für einen kariesprophylaktischen Effekt verantwortlich sind.
Beispielsweise wurden 1953 an der Bevölkerung von Sembrancher im Kanton Wallis ausgedehnte Untersuchungen hinsichtlich möglicher allgemeinmedizinischer Probleme durchgeführt. Einzig auffälliges Ergebnis war der nur geringe Kariesbefall trotz schlechter Mundhygiene. Dies wurde zurückgeführt auf das natürliche Trinkwasser, dessen Fluoridgehalt zwischen 1,0 mg und 1,4 mg lag.

Um den Zahnschmelz zu unterstützen sind regelmässige Fluoridanwendungen empfehlenswert. Die Dosierung ist altersabhängig und die medizinisch definierten Grenzwerte sollten nicht überschritten werden. Zur Anwendung gibt es unterschiedliche Darreichungsformen, wie z.B. Mundspüllösungen, Gelees und Lacke.
Inzwischen gibt es über 300.000 wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen zur Verwendung von Fluoriden. Sie belegen die Ungefährlichkeit bei richtiger Anwendung. Daher ist die ärztliche Betreuung wichtig.