Why it is so important

Many scientific studies demonstrate the clear relationship between nutrition quality and caries.
Already in 1937 there was a scientific investigation regarding dental caries in children in the Gomser Valley in the Canton of Wallis. For a very long time this valley was very difficult to access and for that reason quite isolated. The means of life were very meager and food was scarce. The children there had hardly any caries. With the opening of a mountain pass and the arrival of a railway connection, the lifestyle habits and nutrition of the inhabitants in the valley changed. Industrially produced foodstuffs, especially flour and sugar, found their way increasingly into the valley. The new way of life resulted in a large and fast increase in the amount of dental caries in children.

Carbohydrates (for example sugar) combined with the bacteria found in every human create acids. These have a direct influence on the surface of the teeth and over time destroy the tooth enamel. The result is carious defects which in everyday language are called “holes”.

The following list gives you an overview of how many grams of sugar are contained in 100 grams of various foodstuffs:

Biscuits 50g Bananas 18g
Butter cookies 20-26g Apples 10-16g
Chocolate 46-62g Strawberries 3-7g
Hard candies 90g Orange juice 7-11g
Marzipan 49g Pears 8-9g
Ice cream 21g Honey 62-85g

The cariogenity, that is, the potential of foodstuffs to induce caries is dependent on several variables. Easily metabolized carbohydrates are the main cause of caries. To these belong sugar and food containing white flour. Foodstuffs that are sticky pose an even larger danger. The development of caries is promoted by a long duration (sticky constitution) in the mouth and the frequent consumption of such foodstuffs.

In industrially produced foods sugar is usually referred to in scientific terms, for example:

Dextrose Corn sugar
Farina Brown sugar
Fructose Fruit sugar, fructose
Glucose Corn sugar
Glucose syrup Corn syrup
Inverted sugar 50/50 Mixture of Glucose and Fructose
Lactose Milk sugar (from mammals and breast milk)
Maltose Malzzucker
Maltose Malt sugar
Sucrose Crystal sugar, beet sugar, cane sugar

The carbohydrates listed above have a sweetening function and thus are often used in candies.

Our recommendations:

  • foodstuffs that have a high sugar content and are sticky in texture should be consumed as little as possible and when, then eaten only at the major mealtimes
  • sugary snacks (soft drinks as well) between meals should generally be avoided
  • give your child fresh fruit and milk or water instead

Warum sie so wichtig ist

Viele wissenschaftliche Studien belegen einen eindeutigen Zusammenhang zwischen der Ernährungsweise und Karies.
1937 befasste sich eine wissenschaftliche Untersuchung mit der Zahnkaries bei Kindern aus dem Gomser Tal im Kanton Wallis. Lange Zeit war dieses Tal schwer zugänglich und dadurch auf sich selbst gestellt. Die Lebensbedingungen waren kärglich und die Nahrungsmittel knapp. Die Kinder hatten kaum Karies. Mit der Eröffnung einer Passstrasse und der Erschliessung durch eine Eisenbahn, veränderten sich die Lebens- und Ernährungsgewohnheiten der Talbewohner. In zunehmendem Masse fanden industrielle Nahrungserzeugnisse, insbesondere Mehl und Zucker Einzug. Diese neue Lebenssituation bewirkte eine schnelle und grosse Zunahme der Zahnkaries bei Kindern.

Kohlenhydrate (z.B. Zucker) und die im Mund eines jeden Menschen befindlichen Bakterien bilden Säure. Diese wirkt direkt auf die Zahnoberfläche ein und zerstört im Laufe der Zeit die Schmelzoberfläche des Zahnes. Es entstehen kariöse Defekte, die umgangssprachlich als „Löcher“ bezeichnet werden.

In der folgenden Auflistung erhalten Sie eine Übersicht darüber, wie viel Gramm Zucker in 100 Gramm verschiedener Lebensmittel enthalten sind:

Bisquits 50g Bananen 18g
Butterkeks 20-26g Äpfel 10-16g
Schokolade 46-62g Erdbeeren 3-7g
Bonbons 90g Orangensaft 7-11g
Marzipan 49g Birnen 8-9g
Eiscreme 21g Honig 62-85g

Die Kariogenität, d.h. das kariesbegünstigende Potential von Lebensmitteln, hängt von verschiedenen Voraussetzungen ab. Leicht zu verstoffwechselnde Kohlenhydrate sind Hauptverursacher von Karies. Hierzu gehören vor allem Zucker und Erzeugnisse aus hellem Mehl. Dabei haben klebrige Nahrungsmittel ein grösseres Schädigungspotential. Die Kariesbildung wird begünstigt durch eine lange Verweildauer (klebrige Zubereitungsform) im Mund und häufigem Verzehr derartiger Lebensmittel.

Bei industriell gefertigten Lebensmitteln werden für Zucker bei den Zutaten häufig wissenschaftliche Bezeichnungen verwendet, wie z.B.:

Dextrose Traubenzucker
Farin mit Sirup braun gefärbter, feiner, mehlartiger Zucker
Fructose, Lävulose Fruchtzucker
Glucose Traubenzucker
Glucosesirup Traubenzuckersirup
Invertzucker Gemisch aus gleichen Teilen Glucose und Fructose
Lactose Milchzucker (Säugetier- und Muttermilch)
Maltose Malzzucker
Maltodextrose Malz- und Traubenzucker
Saccharose Haushaltszucker, Rübenzucker, Rohrzucker

Diese aufgeführten Kohlenhydrate haben eine süssende Wirkung und werden daher gerne in Süsswaren eingesetzt.

Unsere Empfehlungen

  • stark zuckerhaltige und klebrige Lebensmittel sollten möglichst selten und wenn, dann nur zu den Hauptmahlzeiten verzehrt werden
  • auf zuckerhaltige Zwischenmahlzeiten (auch Getränke) sollte in der Regel verzichtet werden
  • geben Sie Ihrem Kind eher frische Früchte und Milch oder Wasser